Mu Kappa

Program Links

No alt text




History of Mu Kappa Chapter

Efforts to establish a local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing began in 1985 between schools of nursing at Georgia Southern University (Georgia Southern University) in Statesboro and Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah, Georgia. The first induction ceremony was held on May 3, 1990.

Since the initial chartering of that first chapter, membership and activity in Sigma Theta Tau continued to grow. In October 2002, members at each university were approved to form independent chapters. Special guest speaker at the chartering ceremony at Georgia Southern University was Dr. Carol Picard, who was eventually elected as national President of STTI.


Last updated: 7/15/2016

School of Nursing • P.O. Box 8158 Statesboro, GA 30460 • Georgia Southern University